top of page
Search

Book Review- The Darcy's Hope Saga by Ginger Monette

Words cannot adequately describe how this book makes me feel, but I will attempt nonetheless.  If you have not read this book yet, drop whatever book you were reading or planning to read next and Go. Read. This. Book! Seriously!!


I cannot recall the last time I read a book that so thoroughly moved me, gripped me, and rocked me to the core.   This is quite possibly the best JAFF book I have ever read– and I have read a lot. I literally wept through the entire last chapter, it was just so good. I cannot believe I am only just discovering this book now!  I can well understand why it was picked as a blogger favorite by so many well-known JAFF bloggers; it is an absolutely stunning piece of fiction. 


This book is a duology that includes Darcy’s Hope- Beauty from Ashes and Darcy’s Hope at Donwell Abbey. While you can enjoy the first book as a standalone, I highly recommend you read both books to get the full experience. 


The book is free of sex and coarse language, but there is a fair amount of gruesome detail– as to be expected for a book that takes place in the middle of the most devastating war in history. Nevertheless, this story is absolutely beautiful. It really does feel like Pride and Prejudice set in the world of Downton Abbey! The emotions between Darcy– a captain in the British army, and Elizabeth– a VAD nurse, are so raw and real. The story is fraught with tension throughout the bulk of the story, but I guarantee it has a very happy ending! 


If you read no other books this year, please, read this book. You won’t be disappointed!


40 views0 comments
bottom of page